top of page
  • Lili

Working problems

Years ago, a friend asked me to do a voice over for his company. They had a contract with the national telecommunications company and it was a big deal. The money was on the low side but it was ok.

I recorded the whole menu, got my money and went back every couple of months to add a few lines and options.

Then my friend got fired, and a new guy took over, very young, and very rude.

From the get go, he was calling the studio for changes in formats, and the studio owner at some point asked me to do something about it as he would call anytime of day and had no clear image of what he wanted.

We discussed and said we would give him a bit of time, as he was new and maybe pressured by the company.

But the guy kept being worse and worse. Almost always I had to go back and rerecord something that HE had forgotten. Basically I was saving his ass on my time.

So one day I told him that every re-recording will have to be paid as a new session, as every other voice artist does. I had done this long enough and was hoping it would force him to be more responsible with our time.

He said " Money? We are looking for someone else anyway, because you are too expensive."

I looked at his skinny frame, the afro hair, the ugly face, the high pitched voice.

I breathed in, smiled and said: "Well that is good to know. And motivating. But my answer is final, any rewrite after recording or any mistake you do, will have to be paid".

So started a war. He would call me to come an record, NOW, and I would say I can't- which was true- and he would insist.

This was a typical dialog.

-What are you doing after your thing?

-I have to pick up my daughter.

-Bring her too.

-She will be hungry and tired and need to do her homework.

-You gave your voice, you have a responsibility.

-I have been there every time you asked for an appointment. I am not coming to fix a mistake that was not my doing. Not for free, not now. I can come tomorrow.

-The technicians can't tomorrow ( that was a lie).

-Then it will have to be Monday.

-You are unprofessional.

- ( deep breath) I have to go now.

-You owe us. We will get another one.

-I don't. And please do. I m staying till you find a new one, but if you keep it up, I will quit the project here and now.

-You cant!

-I can. I am a freelancer. That provides me with liberty with my time and freedom to chose who I work with.


We met on Monday, at a division of the national company to do the recording. The technician asked me a question and while I went to answer, I was sushed by the representative. I started laughing, this was surreal.

I recorded my session, and waited to be paid. There was one euro difference and the guy started going to every office looking for change.

He then came to me with a handful full of coins, satisfied that he was giving me all that, and not given me a cent more.

I laughed and laughed and he got increasingly mad.

He started being abusive, wanting to give me the coins one by one, and I had no more time for his shenanigans. I told him I quit.

He proceeded to tell me -in front of everybody and my kid who was with me- that if he was not in an office he would beat the shit out of me.

My daughter grabbed my hand, and the offices went quiet, as he had said that in front of everyone.

I walked to him, looked him straight in the eye. Beady eyes, thin lips, full of hatred, he stared back.

"Go ahead."

He backed down and I left, free.


Two hours later his boss called me, not to apologize, but to blame me for "misunderstanding" and for "irritating" his boy.

I answered that it's not too late on my part to go to the police and press charges, and he should be thanking me.

He proceeded to tell me I had an obligation to the company, to which I responded if they wanted my voice again, they will have to pay double, and get that "boy" of the case.

He told me I would pay for this.

Which I did in a way.

Their accountant made a mistake in payment, and texted me that if I dont pay money back, they would go to the tax authorities.

My accountant confirmed the mistake was on their end, and I had no choice.

So I did pay it back.


And I moved on.

But every time I see the name of that Chinese company on phones, I feel like throwing up.


This is one of many stories I had to endure while being a single working mom, and coming to Denmark it was extremely difficult to let people know what had happened in this and that job. How, be it my size, or my gender, I have had most of my life, people like that , acting like this and how, I never felt small, or the need to become compliant, if something was wrong.

There is a huge price to pay, when you feel your boundaries are not respected, and you point that out. You don't fit the mold they put on you. As a foreigner, I have lots of labels. Expat, immigrant, old woman, irrelevant.

As I grow older, I learn to shrug it off. Who cares if so and so doesn't like me or respect me? No one. Who cares if a 20 year old can't see past her own mother when looking at me?

Who cares if so and so, hates foreigners?

But if so and so, fires me for not playing the game he want's to play, it is on me.

I found out that people like that exist also in Denmark. They may not threaten you with corporal punishment as this guy did, who clearly saw a speck of dust in me from the get go, but they will undermine, or even fire you if you do not do as you are told. And I am someone who does what she is told, if it's not illegal, or hurtful to someone. But I am also someone. Not something.

I am also ideas, vision, motivation, kindness, courage, and curiosity.

Although lately, I am just a couch potato.


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page