top of page
  • Lili

Hospital stories 3

I m in a lot of pain.

-Nurse in emergency phone: You need to go to a hospital.

Me:- I can't.

-I cannot give you an ambulance. (very aggressively)

-I did not ask for one. (why not really?)

-But you have to go.

- I am telling you I can't breathe, and I am in pain.

-Then I will write you REFUSED to go.

-I am not, I am telling you I feel weak and in pain.


That was a few months ago, I did not go to the hospital and a week later I had to. It turned out I had jaundice and a blockage from a bile stone in my liver that was under attack. (I eventually went to the hospital, was admitted, told to have surgery, but I was not in pain anymore, so I decided to change my diet and flush them out, which I did)



Then three weeks ago, this happened.


-Hi, it's probably nothing but I woke up with a pain in my chest above my breasts and it comes and goes, and hurts my teeth.

-You need to go to the hospital.

-Are you sure? It could be acid reflux or a reaction to migraine medication.

-Your symptoms show that you should go.

-Ok.


So I went (spent again a fortune on taxis, had to wait for hours like the last time, and eventually went home)



2 days ago, the same pain in the night.

The next morning a squeezing sensation on my chest would linger.

I call the emergency number, and I am very casual about it.

-I m sure it's nothing but my daughter insisted.

-No, you need to go to the hospital.

-Are you sure?

-Yes I am sending you an ambulance.

-.... why?

-Because I have to.

-So why did I not get one when I really was bad?

-I don't know.



This was confirmed by the ambulance nurse as well, and I skipped the waiting line.

So basically my feeling of insecurity that if something happens to me, I will die bleeding or trying to get to the hospital vanished, but another worry crept in as to why that first and second nurse did not send an ambulance when I was really needing it?

I don't want to think it's because I speak English, and I'm using their "tax" money.

I don't want to think it is because they are bad sad people who enjoy power tripping.

I don't want to think about it. It is scary.


3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page