top of page
  • Lili

Scandinavian Cello school

I dont remember the exact way I met Jacob, but I remember why. I was getting divorced and my then husband wanted to dispose of the apartment,and I was frantically trying to find an alternative for me and my daughter. Jacob had an apartment for sale and I would have bought it if he was not in the midst of renovations. The timing was not right , but we stayed in touch. He came to see me as a client, ( although Bowen had not effect on him) and we would trade help and massages ( get your mind out of the gutter, I am licensed :P), He helped me move heavy furniture and so on.

I enjoyed this "trading" mindset he had, that reminded me of Greece, my home for so many years. In Denmark everything is expensive, and trading this way was a God sent.I admired Jacob's willingness to do manual work because he was a renowned cellist, and his hands were his instruments. I liked him, he was a good man. Smart, intelligent, talented and active, he had adopted Denmark many years back and was a source of information that were valuable to me.


When thinking of Jacob I always bring to mind a skinny, blond and laughing young man, mostly. He had a joy of life, a simplicity, that was heartwarming, but refined tastes which I appreciated.. Good food, good wine, good company. He was a bit like me in this area, I like the finer things, and yet I dont mind walking around with a pyjama full of holes and stick my hands in manure.


We kinda lost touch, the following years, due to his many travels around the world to teach and perform in concerts, but in this day and age can anyone really lose contact?

l would always follow his pictures, always styled, sometimes i would even tease him, and I discovered places with him I did not know. But, the past couple of years his pictures were different, and even closer to my tastes. Nature, building a smoking cabinet, the occasional steak decorated to perfection...

It turned out that Jacob had created a foundation a few years back, and a base recently, to teach young talented cellists He had become a new dad as well, so that overshadowed the news of his foundation, in my mind.


The fishing pictures caught my eye, as I love to fish. The beautiful landscapes that spoke to my soul, mixed with photos of students playing the cello, and one day, I saw it.

The cottage.

With a roof a hay/straws, the white walls separated by black wooden beams, the garden with new sprouts, and that blue amazing sky...





Was it a home? No, it was everything. A guest room here, a music room there, with piano and loft, a practice room, a gallery...

It turned out the SCS was an old renovated farm, and a base to teach young cellists that were serious about their craft... for free.


For the next few weeks I watched each of Jacob\s Facebook stories, more and more invested and intrigued. I asked him if my daughter could join them and help with manual work. It would be a good opportunity for her to get out of the city, get away from her phone, feel accomplished with work.

Jacob invited me to go along and although I was a bit apprehensive regarding my own behavior ( I talk a lot, I interrupt, I complain a lot and so on when I am stressed and have not been around others for long periods of time), the idea of leaving this city was too strong. I promised to monitor myself ( ha!) and we went to Stevns Klint, in the south of Denmark.




I was amazed at the work Jacob had done. The cottage is inside and out is just perfect, clean, modern, the music room , with piano and loft and old stove was just the right touch of rural, the main house, the garden, everything was balm for the soul.

I left Copenhagen a nervous wreck, afraid to touch my own child at times, thinking of corona 24/7, worrying about the future, and came back relaxed, barely thinking of cleaning the groceries.

I saw how the Scandinavian Cello school works, how students come and practice with Jacob, eat and sleep and find peace before exams. Preparing, inhaling the sea air, sleep in deep silence.

The SCS is located near Rodvig, and we hiked till the harbor of Lund. We planted seeds and plants, we cuddled with the cat, we ate and drank and almost inhaled the silence.

I felt inspired, calmed down, and full of gratitude.

I massaged and gave Bowen treatments, and I drew.

I admired the scenery, and ate fresh fish. Homemade bread.

At night I could only hear the crackling of the wood in the stove, while sipping hot tea, and took it all in.

Money is not what makes the world go round, and life is more than that.

I knew it once, I forgot it somewhere along the way, in my desire to provide for my child.

But happiness is hygge, as the Danes describe this feeling of feeling comfortable. At peace.



Music room at Scandinavian Cello school

I saw Jacob laughing all the time, working from morning to dawn, in the garden, in the music room. I met musicians, his friends and family, and I am sure I was too much with all my advice to the new parents and my old wives stories, but they were gracious, kind, calm, in balance.


Everyone should have this kind of life. Near nature, but also with a hint of sophistication. With muddy shoes from gardening, and jazz and a glass of wine in the evening. Fresh fish, smoked to perfection, and paintings relaxing your eyes.

Eating breakfast to the sound of cello, now that was a pleasure I did not know I needed.




And the best part of it, is that staying there is not just for cellists, as part of the farm is used for lodging/food and the profits go to the foundation. Whether from airbnb or directly from the site, anyone can book a few days and experience the joy to go fish, have a dinner cooked, interact with cultivated and down to earth people, that are funny, young and well intentioned...and just...relax. Truly relax.

The profits go the a good cause, a foundation that forms, educates and provides a safe haven to the finest, refined musicians of the future. And it is affordable.

Fresh sublime food, calm to appease your soul, good wine, good music, the sea, the fields, and the feeling of being in the moment were what we got.

I urge you to contact the scs, you would be surprised how easy it is to hop on a train, and be greeted by one of the most talented, cultivated and caring people I know. And if you are a cellist, do not think twice.

Karen, Jacob, thank you for the lovely time, for being part of your world, and for being such good friends.









169 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page