top of page
  • Lili

Blessing bags

I saw it on the internet, a small bag capable to hold a toothbrush, tissues, money, gloves, socks, candy bars, soap and more. A small Ziploc bag I coud put in my backpack, waiting for the moment I would spot someone homeless.

I thought the idea was genius and I went on social media to find support.

During the 5 years I have done this, only a few re-returned to help.

It is a tedious thing. Gathering items, and people. The principle was to put everyone to work, create identical bags, and then go out to give those bags to people in need.

The surplus of bags, would be distributed evenly to those who took part in this, and that meant they would be on the lookout for homeless people, all year long. It creates awareness, we pay attention. So Blessing bags was created and each year I tried to gather as much as I could.


I have this special weak spot for people living in the streets, I don't know why. Maybe because I fear I might end up like this one day. Maybe because I saw too many old people eating from the garbage when they lost everything during the crisis. Maybe because growing up in paris, I was shocked at the indifference of my parents passing he "clochards".

But I think it due to certain images that haunt me.


A few years back I saw an old man sleeping outside a super market on a cardboard. Two days later he was still there so I decided to give him some money. i had 100 kr on me and headed to the entrance to make change, but there was a huge queue.

I looked at the bill in my hand and hesitated only a second. It was a lot of money but it's ok. He needs it more than I do. I have food on my table and a bed to sleep in.

I stretched out my hand and the bill is he first thing he saw.

His eyes opened wide and he looked up to see me, incredulous. The look of surprise, the shock and the realization I had not done a mistake, that indeed these 100 kr were for him, made me feel shame.

All these range of emotions like a child given a surprise Ice cream, on an old man's tired face, his joy, made me feel ashamed for not having more to give.


Our world is not right.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page